I’m Procrastinating By Writing This Article.

McKenzie Lynn Tozan
5 min readOct 21, 2021
Photo by Magnet.me on Unsplash

I finally realized procrastination is incredibly sneaky and doesn’t necessarily manifest in “lazy” events like binge-watching television.

Rather, I might clean my entire house before doing my work. I might catch up on the laundry. I might read a book I’ve been putting off.

Those are easier tasks for me to notice for what they are, however.

What continues to surprise me is the productive tasks I’ll complete that are really procrastination in disguise.

Right now, for example, I’m writing this article about procrastination and how to move beyond it… when really, I have an article I’ve been struggling with since yesterday, and when I’m honest with myself, I’m dodging it, because I’m worried I won’t ever be able to make it quite work.

Of course, that isn’t true. Imposter syndrome is a terrible symptom of creativity, and it likes to tell you things like, “You’ll never be good enough,” and “Oh? You like that idea for an article? Yeah, hate to tell you this, but you will never be able to pull that off. Let someone else write it,” or “That’s not how you write about that subject; you’re doing it wrong.”

--

--

McKenzie Lynn Tozan

A Dino Poet, Novelist, Book Reviewer, Double EIC, & Midwestern Girl in Croatia. THE DUPLEX out now! https://beacons.ai/mckenzielynntozanwrites