Need Inspiration for the New Year? Here’s My Reading List for 2023.

McKenzie Lynn Tozan
5 min readJan 3, 2023
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

I always enjoy the new year: the excitement, the hope, and of course, the resolutions. In the last few years, it’s become especially important to me to plan my year well and to create goals for myself that would serve me in becoming the writer, freelancer, and book designer I want to be.

But as I mentioned in my latest post, I’m also learning to prioritize my health. This year, not only do I have goals regarding my writing, my reading goals, and launching two literary magazines, but I also have goals that are specific to my health and working my way through multiple diagnoses. Not the usual “I want to lose weight this year,” but items that are more specific to me like finessing my dietary changes, mastering specific yoga flows, and decluttering certain areas of my home.

Last year, I created a list of books I wanted to read, some of which were specifically chosen to help me with my goals: books about mindset, books about copywriting, and more. But this year, I wanted to create a reading list that was sub-categorized into my goals.

And I liked the reading list so much (the titles and the organization), I wanted to share it with you.

Here’s my reading list for 2023:

Craft Books (in my infinite pursuit to learn…

--

--

McKenzie Lynn Tozan

A Dino Poet, Novelist, Book Reviewer, Double EIC, & Midwestern Girl in Croatia. THE DUPLEX out now! https://beacons.ai/mckenzielynntozanwrites